Liquid Light
Liquid Light
Liquid Light
About Us
Liquid Light
Scientific Advisors

Dr. Andrew Bocarsly

Dr. Andrew Bocarsly is a professor of chemistry at Princeton University and a founder of Liquid Light, where he serves as Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board. A leading researcher in electrochemistry and renewable energy, he has worked for over 30 years on solar energy conversion, systems for energy storage and fuel cells. Dr. Bocarsly and his group at Princeton were the first in the world to develop a process for directly converting solar energy into liquid fuel using no additional energy source. He continues to work closely with Liquid Light developing new catalysts and systems for the efficient conversion of carbon dioxide to fuels and industrial chemicals.

Dr. Bocarsly received his B.S. in Chemistry and Physics from UCLA and his Ph.D. in Chemistry from MIT.

Dr. Michele Aresta

Dr. Michele Aresta is a professor of inorganic chemistry at the University of Bari in Bari, Italy. Dr. Aresta is also President of the Inorganic Chemistry Division of the Italian Chemical Society and Director of the Inter-university Consortium of Chemical Reactivity and Catalysis (CIRCC). Dr. Aresta is a global leader in carbon dioxide chemistry and the chemistry of small molecules. His research for the last 25 years has focused on catalytic means of using carbon dioxide as a feedstock for the chemical industry. He is the author or editor of four books on the subject of carbon dioxide utilization.

Dr. Aresta holds a Ph.D. in Industrial Chemistry from the University of Milan, Italy. His awards include the Renoir Prize, Award of the Societe Francaise de Chimie, and the Award of the Italian Chemical Society for his work on Carbon Dioxide Utilization.

Dr. Alex Bell

Dr. Alexis Bell is the Dow Professor of Sustainable Chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley and a Faculty Senior Scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. His research centers on the synthesis of oxygenated compounds from carbon monoxide and carbon dioxide. Dr. Bell's work encompasses both catalysis and the engineering of chemical processes. He serves as editor for Catalysis Reviews, as Chair of the Editorial Board for Chemical Engineering Science, and as a member of the Natural Gas Conversion Board.

Dr. Bell holds a B.S. and Sc.D. from Massachusetts Institute of Technology. His honors and awards include the ACS Award for Creative Research in Catalysis (2001), the William H. Walker Award (2005), and election to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2007).

Dr. Gary Dirks

Dr. Gary Dirks is the director of LightWorks, an Arizona State University initiative to develop solar energy and solar fuels. He is also the Julie Wrigley Chair of Sustainable Practices and a professor in the School of Sustainability. Prior to joining ASU, Dr. Dirks was the president of BP Asia-Pacific and the president of BP China. He grew BP China from zero revenue to 1,300 employees and $4 billion in annual revenue in 2008.

Dr. Dirks earned his Ph.D. in Chemistry at Arizona State University, studying artificial photosynthesis under Professor Devens Gust. His awards include China's "Friendship Award" and an honorary Companion of the Order of St. Michael and St. George (CMG) from the United Kingdom.

Dr. Prasad Lakkaraju

Dr. Prasad Lakkaraju is a Professor of Physical Chemistry and Chairperson of the Chemistry and Biochemistry Department at Georgian Court University. Dr. Lakkaraju began working with Dr. Bocarsly on carbon dioxide conversion in 2007 as a Visiting Researcher Collaborator and Visiting Profesor at Princeton University. Dr. Lakkaraju focused on modeling the reaction mechanisms of carbon dioxide reduction in order to better understand the reactions and design more effective catalysts.Prior to working at Georgian Court University, Dr. Lakkaraju was an assistant professor in the chemistry departments of Uppsala College and Rutgers University. His principal research interests are photoelectrochemical reduction of carbon dioxide and orbital studies of organic radicals and transition metal complexes.

Dr. Lakkaraju holds a B.Sc. and M.Sc. in Chemistry from Andhra University, India. He received his Ph.D. in Chemistry from Indian Institute of Technology, Madras.

Dr. Thomas Mallouk

Dr. Thomas Mallouk is the DuPont Professor of Materials Chemistry and Physics at the Pennsylvania State University. He also serves as Director of The Center for Nanoscale Science at Penn State. Dr. Mallouk’s research interests include electrochemical energy conversion, photocatalysis, nanoscale electronics, environmental remediation, and artificial photosynthesis. Dr. Mallouk is a pioneer in the field of parallel discovery of new electrocatalysts and photocatalysts, developing means for rapidly identifying and synthesizing new catalysts.

Dr. Mallouk holds a Sc.B. from Brown University and a Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley.

Dr. Gabor Somorjai

Dr. Gabor Somorjai is a Professor of Chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley and is widely considered to be the father of modern surface science. His research interests include the development of highly selective catalysts, the development and characterization of nano-particle and single crystal catalysts, techniques for enhancing catalytic activity, and polymer surfaces. Prior to joining UC Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Dr. Somorjai worked on IBM’s research staff.

Dr. Somorjai earned his B.S. at the University of Technical Sciences, Budapest and his Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry at UC Berkeley. Dr. Somorjai’s honors and awards include the Peter Debye Award in Physical Chemistry (1989), the Wolf Prize in Chemistry (1998), the Linus Pauling Award (2000), the National Medal of Science (2002), the Irving Langmuir Prize in Chemical Physics (2007), and the Priestley Medal (2008).

We’re supported by leading experts in the fields of catalysis and carbon dioxide utilization.

Liquid Light